Austinites graduate from Minnesota State University, Mankato

Published 12:00 am Monday, July 17, 2000

Minnesota State University, Mankato graduated 1,398 students during spring commencement exercises on May 13 at the Midwest Wireless Civic Center, Mankato.

Monday, July 17, 2000

Minnesota State University, Mankato graduated 1,398 students during spring commencement exercises on May 13 at the Midwest Wireless Civic Center, Mankato.

Email newsletter signup

MSU Alumnus (’70, ’73) Dr. James W. Bracke, president, CEO and director of Lifecore Biomedical, Inc., Chaska, delivered the commencement address.

Graduate level degrees presented included 81 master of arts degrees, six master of arts in teaching degrees, 12 master of fine arts degrees, two master of business administration degrees, 155 master of science degrees, 12 master of science in nursing degrees, 16 sixth year certificates and 13 specialist degrees. Awarded at the undergraduate level were 64 bachelor of arts degrees, eight bachelor of fine arts degrees, 791 bachelor of science degrees, 162 bachelor of science in teaching degrees, one bachelor of music degree, 17 bachelor of science in electrical engineering degrees, 16 bachelor of science in mechanical engineering degrees, 18 associate of arts degrees and 24 associate of science degrees.

Undergraduate students receiving special recognition included 65 students graduating summa cum laude, 157 students graduating magna cum laude, and 126 students graduating cum laude. Minnesota State University, Mankato offers 72 graduate programs, the largest number offered in the MnSCU system. In addition, MSU offers 101 undergraduate programs.

Graduating from Austin were Jason Alan Anderson, elementary education, BT; Mark Andrew Bohrer, management, BS; Cameron Dale Davis, mathematics, BS; Marcos Kenneth Kroupa, marketing, BS; Angie L Roe, social work, BS; Jeff Paul Tilkes, computer and information sciences, BS; Amy M Tucker, Spanish, BT; Teresa Ann Vanproosdy, elementary education, BT, Magna Cum Laude; and Robert Gerald Wagoner, mass communications: public relations, BS.

UMD holds commencement

The University of Minnesota Duluth held graduation ceremonies on May 13 at the Duluth Entertainment and Convention Center. Congressman James L. Oberstar was the featured speaker. He was also awarded an honorary Doctor of Laws degree for public service, the university’s highest honorary award. Participating in commencement ceremonies were 875 students, along with 100 UMD faculty members.

Austinites who graduated were Benjamin F. Kvam, art, graphic design, B.F.A.; David Preston Law, biology, B.S.; Desiree Jean Finseth, criminology/sociology, B.A.; Rebecca Jo Johnson, early childhood studies, B.A.S.; Sheila Denise Hanegraaf, art, graphic design, B.F.A.

RCTC announces graduates

Rochester Community and Technical College is pleased to announce its 1999-2000 graduates. RCTC congratulates these graduates who reside in your community for successfully completing the requirements for their program of study. Rochester Community and Technical College serves over 6,000 students a year in diploma and degree programs.

Austinites who graduated were Susan Catherine Baune, nursing, AS; Stacy Lee Delwiche, dental assistant, DIPL; Jennifer Lyn Dickman, dental assistant, DIPL; Dustin Richard Fett, building utilities mechanic, DIPL; Lisa Ann Hays, surgical technology, AAS; Derek Eugene Ingvaldson, liberal arts and sciences, AA; Aleisha Jean Kuehne, respiratory care, AS; Heather Marie Larson, liberal arts and sciences, AA; Jennie Tressa Mullenbach liberal arts and sciences, AA; Joshua Mark Shatek, CAD Technology, DIPL; Tracy James Smith, liberal arts and sciences, AA; Diane Kay Svenson, practical nursing, DIPL; and Melanie R. Voogd, practical nursing, DIPL.

Winona lists graduates

Students from Austin who completed academic requirements from Winona State University for Spring 200 are: Taylor Carlson, AA; Christine Clements, BS; Joshua Crane, BS; Rodney Devriendt, BS; Jennifer Gosha, BS; Kerie Heard, BS; Jennifer Hegge, BS; Eric Johnson, BS; Misty Leidal, BS; Diane Morrison, BS; Nichole Nelson, BS; Rhynda Simonson, BS; Daniel Treuter, BA; Jean Wiseman, BS; Carina Wytaske, BS.

Franklin named to dean’s list

Jenny Ann Franklin, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Daniel Franklin of Austin, has been named to the dean’s list for the spring semester at Wheaton College. She is majoring in music performance.

Mannel makes dean’s list

Ruth Mannel, daughter of Rev. Gregory Mannel and Cathy Mannel, of Austin was named to the Concordia College Dean’s Honor List.

Students awarded high honor

Students from the area to to be awarded high honor 94.0 straight "A") from Minnesota State University Mankato include: Shawn Radford; Natalie Razidlo, Angela Sorenson all of Austin; Laura Wencl, Blooming Prairie; Brenda Dahle and Joel Santjer of Hayfield; Cristy Helgeson and Christopher Irvin of Rose Creek; Natalie Becker of Waltham.

Students from the area to be awarded the dean’s list for Spring Semester (3.5-3.99) include: Glen Mullenbach, Adams; Mark Bohrer, Sarah Bos, Katie Braaten, Justin Charron, Cameron Davis, Nicholas Dolan, Michael Hejl, Nicholas Luger of Austin; christopher Anderson, Brian Farr, Matthew Kittelson, Elizabeth Noble, Elizabeth Ruhter of Blooming Prairie; Derek Akkerman, Kayleen Buecksler, Brownsdale; Christine Meyer, Hayfield; Dean Adams, Tricia Harrington, Joshua Mills of LeRoy; Mitchell Grabau, Kari McGill, Jamie O’Connell, Jennifer Smith of Spring Valley.