Wessels named to third team All-State boys basketball team

Published 7:48pm Monday, March 17, 2014

Austin senior point guard Zach Wessels was selected third team All-State by the Associated Press Monday.

Wessels, a four-year starter and AHS’s all-time leading scorer, was also selected to the All-State football second team this past fall. Wessels will play college basketball at Division II University of Sioux Falls next season.

Apple Valley’s Tyus Jones and Lakeville North’s J.P. Macura are the co-winners of the 2014 Minnesota Associated Press Player of the Year award for boys basketball.

Joining Jones and Macura on the AP’s first team are DeLaSalle’s Reid Travis, Osseo’s Wheeler Baker and Alex Illikainen of Grand Rapids. Illikainen is the only junior; the rest are seniors.

Jones and Travis shared the Player of the Year award in 2013, but Travis missed time early in the season because of a stress fracture foot. Jones is bound for Duke, Travis for Stanford and Macura for Xavier, one of the best recruiting classes Minnesota has produced in the sport in years.

Lakeville North (Class 4A) and DeLaSalle (Class 3A) were state champions this season.

Sign in to Comment | Need help commenting? Click here

Editor's Picks