Archived Story

Six AHS students receive Horatio Alger scholarships

Published 9:48am Monday, February 3, 2014

Six Austin High School students — Ashonte’ Cofield, Okony Gilo, Lea Semones, Ryan Synoground, Hannah Voogd and Maria Zarate — will receive 2014 Horatio Alger State Scholarships.

These scholarships are awarded to outstanding students who are continuing their education and serving their communities in the face of adversity.

73 AHS choir students get vocal awards

The Minnesota Vocal Contest was held in Lakeville on Jan. 25 and more than 125 Austin High School choir students attended. Of the 85 vocal entries, Austin vocal students earned 33 superior (highest) ratings and 40 excellent (second highest) rating.

Superior medalists: Adam Bergstrom, Alexis Kruse, Alicia Skolte, Allison Jensen, Anna Bachmeier, Arn Huizinga, Bailey Mueller, Betsy Ettinger, Brianna Ritter, Claire Lunning, Ethan Johnson, Grace Berke, Grace Thoesn, Heidi Johnson, Jacob Burkhart, Jacob Gardner, Jake Reinartz,  Jessica Pedersen, Jiyoon Shin, Kennedy Novy, Kristin Carlson, Kylie Larson, Madeline Strobel, Matt Anderson, Matthew Knoll, Matthew Tylutki,  Max Deyo, Meghan Burroughs, Michael Kroymann, Molly Kestner, Qatar Peters, Rachel Wahlert, Tabitha Nelson, Taylor Sharp, Trent Brown, Trista Akkerman, Valentina Truong-Ferreira

Excellent certificate winners:  Abi Munoz, Athena Hansen, Brooke Pazurek, Brooke Pedersen, Brooke Weinmann, Chanda Ounkong, Erik Anderson, Erin Anderson, Jacob Striker, Jenna Williamson, Jora Bothun, Kassie Fate, Keely Zynda, Kelsey Oldenkamp, Kelsey Ross, Kelsey Sederquest, Liz Salazar, Madeline Kinney, Matt King, Mitzi Medina, Noelan Riley, Okony Gilo, Olive McDermott, Patrick Hagan, Quin Brunner, Rachael Bernand, Riley Meyer, River Meling, Rosa Palma, Sarah Schoen, Sarah Sullivan, Tori Grev, Tysha Allen, Vanessa Lynn, Zeke Peters

Music listening team wins regionals

Austin High School’s team of Kristin Carlson, Ethan Johnson and Matthew Tylutki won Region 8 of the Minnesota High School Music Listening Contest this year at Mankato and is now headed to the state contest at Augsburg College on Feb. 7. Each team of three students is asked to study more than 55 musical selections from the Early Music period of the 1300s to music of the past century. Students identify the piece and the composer after listening to 4-30 seconds of a particular selection. They are also asked specific questions about composers, their music, as well as general musical history questions.

This is the second year in a row that this team has won their region and continued to the state competition.

Dean’s List

—Alayna Wood, of Austin, was named to the Clearwater Christian College dean’s list for Fall 2013.

—Helen Heimark, of Austin, was named to the Butler University dean’s list for Fall 2013.

—Allix Betsinger, Rachel Beyer, Stephanie Erickson of Austin, were named to the Kaplan University dean’s list for Fall 2013.

—Crystal Paulson and Amy Roberts, of Austin, were named to the Kaplan University president’s list for Fall 2013.

The following students were named to the Minnesota State University — Mankato dean’s list for Fall 2013:

—Adams: Mitchell Heimer, Luke Simon and Ezra Smith.

—Austin: Julia Bartemes, Kathryn Barthels, Justin Classon, Grace Ewing, Megan Groh, Samantha Halverson, Garrett Jenkins, Brooklyn Maiers, Melissa McColloch, Nathan Paris, Krista Peters, Alexander Sheldon, Caitlyn Stanley, Joel Swatfager.

—Dexter: Chelsey Fenske.

—Taopi: Stephanie Kasel.

—Taylor Hackensmith and Lindsey Halsey, of Austin, were named to the University of Wisconsin — River Falls dean’s list for Fall 2013.

—Jaide Ryks, of Brownsdale; and Rachel Davis and Kalvin Stern, of LeRoy, were named to the University of Wisconsin — Stevens Point honors list for Fall 2013.

—Marcus Gunderson, Jonathan Koser and BriAnn Mayer, of Austin, were named to the University of Wisconsin —Madison dean’s list for Fall 2013.

The following students were named to the Iowa State University dean’s list for Fall 2013:

—Adams: Kelly Gray, Ethan Heimer, Christopher Wolff.

—Austin: David Erdahl, Neil Erdahl, John Fleiner, Meredith Molhusen, Lauren Nelson.

—Dexter: Molly Frank.

—Rose Creek: Zackery Canterbury.


—Ben Jeremiah Zillgitt, of Austin, graduated from North Dakota State University in Fall 2013. Zillgitt earned a bachelor’s degree in respiratory care.

Sign in to Comment | Need help commenting? Click here

Editor's Picks