NAHL announces 2014 Robertson Cup Playoff format

Published 6:10pm Monday, October 28, 2013

FRISCO, TEXAS – The North American Hockey League has announced the playoff format for the 2014 Robertson Cup playoffs, which begins the first week in April. For the first time since 2003, the Robertson Cup National Champion will be determined via a play-down format, which will consist of four separate rounds over the course of six weeks.

“We are excited to be moving to a more traditional playoff format and are eager to see it in action,” said NAHL Commissioner Mark Frankenfeld. “It offers a very competitive atmosphere for the players and teams, and is a pure test of attrition to determine our National Champion. This shift in format enhances the level of excitement for the fans and increases the level of competition for those on the ice that are giving their all to have their names permanently engraved on the Robertson Cup.”

The top four teams from the regular season in each of the NAHL’s four divisions will qualify for the 2014 Robertson Cup Playoffs. The playoffs will consist of four rounds: the Division Semi-Finals (16 teams), the Division Finals (8 teams), the Robertson Cup Semi-Finals (4 teams) and the Robertson Cup Finals (2 teams).

The playoffs are slated for April 3 – May 11, 2014.

The Division Semi-Finals and Division Finals will each be a best of five series with the higher seeded team hosting three of the five games. The Robertson Cup Semi-Finals will consist of the four divisional playoff champions, who will then be re-seeded 1-4, with the No. 1 seed hosting the No. 4 seed and the No. 2 seed hosting the No. 3 seed in a three game series. The Robertson Cup Finals will feature the two remaining teams playing in a best of three series with the higher seeded team hosting all three games. The first club to win two games in the Robertson Cup Final series will be declared the 2014 NAHL Robertson Cup National Champion.


Sign in to Comment | Need help commenting? Click here

Editor's Picks