Archived Story

Incumbent Lees joined by Kestner, McAlister, Leathers, Glowac and Quitmeyer on general election ballot

Published 11:57pm Tuesday, August 14, 2012

The primary election is wrapped up for the Austin Public Schools board race.

With all 18 precincts reported at 11:06 p.m., incumbent Dick Lees secured his spot on the election ballot, as he led the pack with 946 votes.

“I’m very pleased to make the final six, and I feel that there was a pretty excellent group running,” he said Tuesday night. “What was nice is they were all very positive and they all wanted to see education at Austin Public Schools move forward.”

In second place is Mary Jane Kestner with 899 votes, followed by Carol McAlister in third with 805.

“If people want me in there, I’m willing and ready to serve,” Kestner said. She hopes to volunteer at various district committees this fall and said she’s already studying up on education policy and board protocol should she win a board seat.

McAlister, who ran for school board last fall, was pleased with the primary results.

“I’m very humbled and I’m very honored,” she said Wednesday morning.

Don Leathers and Kathy Glowac came in at fourth and fifth place with 762 and 571 votes, respectively.

“It’s going to give me a chance to make a difference,” Glowac said Tuesday night. “I’ve been looking for that.”

Bruce Quitmeyer edged out David Price for the sixth and final slot on the ballot with Price at 293 votes and Quitmeyer at 305.

Quitmeyer is pleased to be one of the six candidates running for office and said he believes his experience as a parent of Austin students would serve the board well.

“I think it’s good to have a parents’ perspective on the board,” he said.

Matthew Tabor came in eighth with 234 votes and Bud Johnson came in last at 231 votes.

Lees, Kestner, McAlister, Leathers, Glowac and Quitmeyer will vie for three school board seats on Nov. 6.

Leathers was unavailable for comment.


Austin School Board

(Top 6 Candidates Advance to General Election)

Total Votes

Richard Lees (I)



Mary Jane Kestner



Carol McAlister



Don Leathers



Kathy Glowac



Bruce Quitmeyer



David Price



Matthew Tabor



Bud Johnson



(I) denotes incumbent
Precincts reporting: 18 of 18

Sign in to Comment | Need help commenting? Click here

Editor's Picks